About Lexapro Side Effects



LexaproReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
5 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/21/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS; CFIDS; M.E.)Report

I am a 25 year old female and started taking lexapro for anxiety/depression/panic attack. I am petite (not sure if that matters) but I started on 5 mg the first week and jumped to 10 mg the second week. I am now going into my fourth week and the doctor has upped me to 20 mg. My experience with this drug has been very good. I have had depression and anxiety since I was 17 but refused to take drugs afraid of what it would do. Recently I had crippling panic attacks in which I felt extreme fear and led to insomnia and deep depression. This medication really helped with the depression but when I was on 10 mg I didn’t see a huge change in the anxiety. That is why they upped my dose. I have seen a decrease in my anxiety as well and now am able to finally breathe and react normally in simple, and also difficult situations. I did not really have any side effects, other than a few headaches. Nothing Tylenol couldn’t fix. I recommend giving it a try, I was VERY hesitant but am now very glad I tried it.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/20/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

Lexapro 10mg a day worked great for my depression and anxiety. However, the weight gain started to ruin any confidence that I once had which in turn caused major depression for me. I gained 30 lbs within about 6 months. It was unstoppable weight gain, and eating less calories and trying to stay active did not make a difference. It seemed as if every week or so I’d step into the scale and be 5 or 10lbs heavier. It was unbelievable. I have always been a healthy weight, and have a petite frame, so 30 pounds to me is a lot. It changed the way that my body is shaped in a very bad way, cellulite that I never had and a big bulging gut on my stomach area, etc. and I am finding it difficult to lose it or get back to a desirable body shape now even after weaning off of it. (Which also was not fun). Weaning caused a lot of “brain zaps”, dizziness, irritability, a little but if stomach symptoms... just not a good time! I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that I can manage my depression without it and lose this weight!

Report
2 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/17/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS; CFIDS; M.E.)Report

I don't recommend it for GAD. It caused me extreme agitation.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/17/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

I took this for 6 weeks. I have very long thick hair. I experienced major hair loss. My hair was coming out by the handful. I stopped taking this medicine and the loss has slowed. My hair is no where near as thick as it was to the point people as me what I did to my hair . When I pull my hair up it makes me sad to fell the difference in my hair. It is so thin now I cant believe it.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/16/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Generalized anxiety disorderReport

Have tried to take this for almost 3 weeks but can’t do it any more. It has made me feel tired and weird, my pulse rate has gone down and I don’t feel like I’m breathing enough, very scary like I’ve got shallow breathing or something. The only good thing is it’s helped me sleep at night. Have ZERO appetite, and have lost 3 kilos already which is ridiculous. Can’t even eat anything and feel ill, really sweaty palms all the time and have had two massive panic attacks, can’t explain how bad. Very bad upset stomach too, worse than ever before. Contemplating going back on pristiq, shorter half life but felt better than this hell.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/11/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

I started Lexapro about 2 weeks ago and I have terrible mood swings I will be very energetic and happy and then 5 min later I am crying or I am angry. I am always tired and drowsy, I can never fall asleep at night. I don't feel a difference at all.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/10/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

Taking also for general anxiety disorder. I have been taking this medication for 7 months. My doctor started me on 5mg for one week. I noticed an instant change in mood, I began feeling happier and seeing the world in a much better light. The side effects were minor on 5mg, first one was I felt more tired and could sleep 10 to 12 hours if I allowed myself to. I just always felt tired. I began 10mg and I could smile for no reason, I just felt cured of my depression. There are days I still feel down on myself like before but I don't feel like dying or becoming a hermit. For anxiety it makes me want to go and do things more. I feel refreshed after seeing friends rather than feeling drained. Side effects are minimal. I spoke to a therapist after my first 5 months and she asked me how I do with dizziness, fatigue, hunger, libido.... sometimes I feel drowsy when reading, I sleep too much, crave random foods and I no longer feel sexual drive like I did. That's it. I self-medicated and lowered my dose to 5mg again, and I'll see if I have any problems but its been 2 weeks and I feel normal.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/30/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Panic disorder / agoraphobiaReport

I was recently on this drug for roughly 1.5 years after having to go off Effexor. Lexapro definitely helped with my depression but didn't do much for my anxiety/panic disorder. I was on 20 mg and tapered to 10 mg for one week, then 0 for the following week before going on a new medication. Going off this medication was extremely difficult and brought extreme depression and panic. I probably should have tapered more slowly. This drug has worked for many people I know, but it just wasn't effective enough for me..

Report
5 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/26/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for AnxietyReport

The first week was rough. Chest pains at night, but after looking up what others have said about experiencing the same kind of issues, I stuck it out. By the end of the second week the pains were gone. I’ve been on Lexapro for 3 months and I feel better than ever. I feel so much more stable than I think I ever have. No more mood swings, crippling anxiety attacks, or depressive episodes. I haven’t noticed any weight gain or loss so far, which I am happy about. The only symptoms I can say I have now are that I feel like I drink more water now than I used to because I am thirsty more frequently than I used to be, and along with that, I also find that I have to pee more often. No big deal. I am so happy I talked to my doctor about getting on an anxiety medication, and Lexapro has done wonders for me. Clonazepam was the first anxiety/panic attack medication that we tried, and that did not work at all for me.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/25/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

LOOKED AT ALL REVIEWS, was very worried to take this as I am not a pill popper. Mild side off ect s nausea, anxious, tiredness the first week.... then week later no side effects. It does not work straight away, into my third week, feeling good, world looking clearer, motivated, less agitated and on edge- notable difference in short space of time.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/25/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Report

I was put on Lexapro about a month ago to treat my anxiety, which i could no longer manage without treatment. I wish I had gone to a different doctor, or simply explored my options further. The first side affect was insomnia, then my depression worsened. I could no longer get out of bed. As a full-time student with an internship, I continued to force myself to go to class and work. I started having panic attacks after waking up in the middle of the night and during classes. I began experiencing several mental breakdowns every day. I was barely stopped from committing suicide. If you take Lexapro and it makes your symptoms worse, go to your doctor and find another treatment option. No one should have to go through what I have gone through.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/24/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Panic disorder / agoraphobiaReport

Took one pill and had a horrible reaction. Was awake all night with tremors, panic attacks, stomach pain and nausea. Never again...

Report
5 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/23/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Report

This has done wonders for my anxiety, I regret not taking it sooner. Somewhat less effective for the depression, for me, although it has helped. It made me quite dizzy and nauseous at first, especially for the first couple of days, but that cleared up after about a week. Unfortunately it still makes me sweat a lot more than I used too, which can be kind of embarrassing :(

Report
2 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/19/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Report

I told my doctor I’ve suffered from undiagnosed Depression and anxiety my entire life, and now it was getting to much to handle, she put me on 5mg of lexapro, the first week I was fine, no crying spelling, felt great, minor upset stomach, and dry mouth nothing I couldn’t deal with. Then week 2 started, I started clenching my jaw, had extreme headaches with nausea insomnia and tension so bad it made it hard to get outta bed. I told her I wanted to switch medications. Absolute garbage.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/14/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

I took lexapro for a year for depression and anxiety. I felt really good while I was on the medication. The only reason I got off was due to the weight gain. Initially there was no change in weight but after 7-8 months I noticed almost an overnight weight change. I’m a small person (5’1 and about 105 lbs) but I gained about 15 lbs on this medication which was a lot for a small frame. I was always hungry and specifically, carbs. I became more and more depressed about the weight gain and decided to stop. The withdrawal symptoms were pretty brutal and I swore I’d never take a prescription drug like this again. It also took almost a year to lose the weight. Overall, this drug worked. I was finally a happier person. However, the weight gain was just too much for me, personally.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/11/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Report

I started this on Sunday at 10mg, I received the flu shot the same day, huge mistake. I ended up in the ER due to dehydration and chest pain. I was pretty sure it was just a bad combination. I talked with my doctor and we decided for me to try 5mg at night for the next 7 days, I am on day 3. What I can say is that the side effects are mild to moderate for me thus far. I was on Effexor previously and tired a range of other anxiety and depression meds and I hated all the side effects. I tried to stick with the Effexor as long as I could due to me also having fibromyalgia but I just couldn’t deal with the aggressiveness and the erratic side effects any longer. Lexapro side effects for me so far are loss if appetite, diarrhea, dizziness, headache and nausea. I’m hoping this goes away within the next few weeks. I find that taking it at night helps. I’ll update in another week.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (10/5/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for DepressionReport

I hate it ! Gave me high blood pressure, fast heart beat, it enhanced my anxiety n panic attacks. Did wrk for depression but made everything else worse. Never will I choose to take this medication ever again

Report
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (10/1/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for AnxietyReport

I took 5mg Lexapro at 9:00am (9-30-2018) after about 30 mins Felt dizzy, feeling panic attack, extremely fast heart rate and most of all it has lasted all day (it’s now 12:00 midnight) and still have all the same symptoms. I did take 2.5 mg of Xanax (this worked perfectly) to try and ease some of side effects it help a little but still at habe fast heart beat. I have tried to sleep and just can’t because of heart rate. I will never take this medication again. Calling my doctor first thing in the morning. It has made me feel like I did when first stayed having panic attacks. I sure hope it subsides before I have to leave for work. I will be taking my Xanax to help me feel better. This is the worst medication I have ever been on.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/28/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Report

I started lexapro 5mg 5 days ago, while weaning off trintellix. Per my doctors orders, today I upped my lexapro to 10mg, while downing trintellix to 5mg every other day for 5 days. What, if any, side effects are there from the upping from 5mg to 10mg of lexapro. I hear so many good reviews about lexapro, I’m looking forward to the positive effects this drug has on depression, general anxiety, social anxiety panic attacks, etc.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/23/2018)

RatedLexapro (Escitalopram)for Panic disorder / agoraphobiaReport

This medicine saved my life!!!! I had the worst year of my life with deaths and a miscarriage and I didn’t think I could make it through life much longer with my PTSD from my miscarriage, my nightly panic attacks, fear of death, anxiety about dying. I literally felt miserable. I tried Zoloft, Xanax, nothing was cutting the miserery I was in. My primary doctor recommended Lexapro and I was so hesitant because the Zoloft made me feel like a zombie. I’m so happy I said yes. The first couple of days I was very nauseous and had no appetite for a couple of weeks. These symptoms eventually did pass. The only symptoms I am left with is, weird strange dreams (no bad ones), and a hard time having an orgasm. I can live with these symptoms since they are not debilitating. I am feeling like myself again and so grateful for this wonderful medication.

Report
1 of 138

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: What Happens When You Stop Taking Lexapro?

Lexapro Reviews
Lexapro Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Lexapro Reviews pictures

Lexapro Reviews forecasting
Lexapro Reviews recommend photo

Lexapro Reviews images
Lexapro Reviews foto

Lexapro Reviews Lexapro Reviews new images
Lexapro Reviews new photo

photo Lexapro Reviews
pics Lexapro Reviews

Watch Lexapro Reviews video
Watch Lexapro Reviews video

Communication on this topic: Lexapro Reviews, lexapro-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Lexapro Reviews, lexapro-reviews/ , lexapro-reviews/

Related News


How to Make a Paper Dress
Millionaire’s Ice Cream Recipe
Red Pepper Spread
17 Hottest Short Bob Haircuts with Bangs
5 Tricks For Long LastingLipstick
Lindsay Lohan Interview
5 Healthy Sexual Positions
Ten Best Dressed: 12 May 2010
Dit zeggen puistjes over jouw gezondheid
The Truth About Anti-Aging Products



Date: 06.12.2018, 16:29 / Views: 55451