Dexilant Drug for GERD: Side Effects, Dosage & Usage



DexilantReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
2 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/12/2018)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I've been taking it for years but decided to try to get off it about a month ago. I have a hiatal hernia and GERD. I also have a number of other problems, like facial nerve pain, leg nerve pain, PMDD, depression/anxiety, insomnia, gluten intolerance, that various medications and doctors have tried to treat. Dexilant works great to treat GERD, but since I got off it, all my other problems have substantially subsided! Several studies have shown Dexilant may cause gluten intolerance. It definitely causes magnesium/calcium to not absorb. You need magnesium for good nerve conduction. I was taking a supplement but it might not have been enough. No PMDD this month, either! The difference is pretty astounding. And I have tried out some homemade bread, which so far is working! I also noticed a LOT less stomach bloating. I'm disappointed that none of the doctors looked at my medications holistically, they just threw meds at me for symptoms and ordered expensive tests that went nowhere. So, if you take it, try not to take it forever.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 0 months ago (11/6/2018)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

After taking this medication for a month I had awful diarrhea, nausea, seating and bad headache. I continued a few more weeks and then experienced vaginal hemoraging, racing heart, cramping in my legs and little sores inside my mouth. Then the god awful pain under my rib on the left side on my stomach. Called 911 then it passed. Went to see my doctor and they did a biopsy for the vaginal bleeding and it was benign. Then I saw my medical doctor and we figured out that this all started after I began taking this medication. I have been off of it for four days and the pain in my left side is getting better , my headache gone and no more shakes in my hands. For me this medication had very serious side effects. Be careful.....

Report
5 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (11/6/2018)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Dexilant is the ONLY drug that worked for me! Note there is a generic drug finally out for the 60 mg dose - it could save a LOT of $$.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (7/11/2018)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I have tried other acid reflux meds like omeprazole and ranitidine (Zantac) and they never allowed me to eat steak or have red wine at night. Dexilant does, and not only can I have both now, but I can even eat them after 10pm, whereas before I couldn’t even have a cookie after 10pm without waking up with acid burning my throat at 3am. Now I sleep peacefully every night, no matter when I have dinner. I love Dexilant.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 5 months ago (7/3/2018)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I have been on various medications and treatments for acid reflux for years. Some had limited or short term effects and in the end nothing was working until I was given Dexilant. 30mg dose once daily worked for a few years and this has been increased to my current dose of 60mg twice a day, having to increase every few years to maintain the effect. The drug is pricy. I have good prescription insurance but it costs me 0 since its not one of the approved drugs. The makers do offer a worthy discount, so if you cant afford it please visit their website and sign up for the discount program, its FREE and the prices have gone down significantly (with the discount card). I just refilled today 07/03/2019 and it went from 0 to so I am happy. I just know that once my current regiment doesn't work, my only option is surgery :(.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 7 months ago (4/17/2018)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I have been taking this drug about 2 months now. Didn't take as directed at first because of cost. I now take it everyday and have very little if any heartburn or burning in my stomach. I only have to take this and nothing else. Love it. I was on omethraprazol 40mg twice a day. It didn't work at all eat tums by the handful. If you haven't tried it give it a shot. I haven't had any side effects yet.

Report
0 Stars
Posted 13 months ago (10/8/2017)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I was Diagnosed with acute mild gastritis which was extremely painful and suffered with burning stomach and pain on my upper right side and indigestion. After trying Prilosec and then Protonix for several weeks which made me feel even worse. I was beginning to give up hope when my doctor suggested I try one more drug which was Dexilant. I was skeptical at first but so glad that I did. I felt some relieve the first few days but on day five I really felt it kicked in and hadn’t had that much relief in two months. I think If one drug isn’t working you should try another. I had absolutely no side effects and after one week felt Way on the road to recovery. I finished my therapy of four weeks and so far so good thank you DEXILANT.

Report
0 Stars
Posted 15 months ago (8/22/2017)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I've suffered for GERD so bad that I made several trips to the ER convinced that I was having a heart attack. My GI and PCP prescribed everything for me (Nexium, Prilosec, Protonix..etc) and nothing help. I eventually developed pains that felt like a knife splitting down my chest when I ate, so despite some of the bad reviews I read I started to take Dexilant 60mg once a day, and although its been less than 2 weeks I have found significant relief. I would tell those that are unsure to give it a try.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 16 months ago (7/20/2017)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I started dexilant after taking several others. Diagnosed with erosive gastritis with endoscopy. It finally made my pain Better but after 2-3 weeks had anxiety and weight loss. Felt awful. Now switching to Zantac. Hopefully will feel better, appetite has improved.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 23 months ago (1/3/2017)

RatedDexilantfor Erosive EsophagitisReport

I started taking Dexilant after having to be off Famotidine for 5 weeks so my GI doctor could do various tests. After an endoscopy w/ Bravo, it was discovered that I had severe GERD (dr said he hadn't seen levels as high as mine from the 48 hour Bravo) along with an erosive stomach and esophagus. I was in bed for 7 weeks and thought being dead would be better than how terrible I felt. I wasn't able to eat anything but a few saltines and was told by a nurse to drink diet ginger ale and to buy ginger candy (toy don't have to buy the flavored candy offerings, there are other types of it at Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, etc). The ginger ale started helping - I swear it was like a gift to have found out that helped w/ nausea. Once my tests results came back I was told about Dexilant b/c it's the only drug that does two things - it heals the erosiveness and also calms your stomach/esophagus. I also had the issue of the high price of the drug. The Dexilant website offered coupons to lower cost to approx . That is not true. I called around to several pharmacies including Walmart, Target, CVS, & Walgreens. Every place said that my ins. only would cover a VERY SMAL

Report
5 Stars
Posted 24 months ago (11/29/2016)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I first started taking pantoprazol but it wasn't enough so they switched me to dexilant 30mg, and it was working amazing for about a year and then I started getting symptoms again so they upped my dose to 60 I'm only worried if what will happen when I start getting symptoms again since 60is the top dose but other wise I'm happy with it, also can't say for side effects since I have IBS and probably wouldn't notice unless severe

Report
5 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (11/2/2016)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Works for me.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/20/2016)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I have never experienced such horrible side effects!!! I cannot take Nexium because it makes me fell bad, but this is a whole new experience in suffering!!!

Report
1 Stars
Posted 35 months ago (12/12/2015)

RatedDexilantfor Erosive EsophagitisReport

WORKED for my GERD......BUT I had not done my homework and mistakenly thought (since it's flu season) that the raging flu symptoms I had for 3 weeks in a row were just bad luck - I had caught them ALL! one right after another! NO! Most noteable symptom is screaming burning diarrhea but seriously.....I've been off it a week and up all night again tonigt with diarrhea because I ate today. This is awful. When will my gut be back to normal....? I'm taking probiotic acidophlus and cheap previously reliable anti-diarrhea pills, no relief! One month now without asolid stool, this can't be good, calling the Dr on Monday since stopping the med has not corrected the problem.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 38 months ago (10/2/2015)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Not as good as Prilosec for me. If I missed a dose, my upper throat was so painful. Painful. Painful. There should be a black box warning on this medicine for the low magnesium side effects. I've had this without knowing what it was. I have been on a reflux medicine for more than 25 years. Dexilant and Omneprozal are the least effective. I've been on Dexilant for 3 years.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 56 months ago (3/20/2014)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Took for 10 mo. Burning pain radiating just under rib cage. After 2 mo., the pain was a dull pain that radiated in and out thru the day. by Christmas dull pain presents most of day. Stopped taking the drug and the pain went away, almost immediately. I will not take this drug again.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 63 months ago (8/26/2013)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I tried Prilosec and it did not help. I have Achalasia and GERD. I started having severe burning in the abdomen everytime I would eat or if my stomach was empty!. This is the only drug that has given me any relief. My insurance company does not want to pay for it. I may be forced to buy in Canada which will still cost me almost 0 a month. They want me to use Prilosec because it is cheaper which would be fine with me IF it worked! Needless to say I am disgusted with my Blue Cross company. I pay my own premiums and co-pays and they make it miserable to deal with. I like only having to take this pill once a day. No problems with it but be sure you take with a big glass of water and I eat something too.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 64 months ago (7/30/2013)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

It appears to work for awhile then I felt heaviness in my chest. I stopped it and went back to Prilosec. Without insurance it is 0 plus. Even with the co-pay of is too much.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 87 months ago (8/22/2011)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

I would strongly recommend this drug (dexilant,60mg) treatment, taking it for a full 15 day. I suffer with GRED/IBS for years. Lot of Pain/and surgery done to help with condition, but still suffered with Pain in stomach & GI track. However, within 24hrs the pain was better with taking dexilant.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 90 months ago (5/21/2011)

RatedDexilantfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

This drug is fast acting and I had a noticeable difference in my reflux after 24 hours. The only side effect I experienced was excess gas which is minor compared to the pain and discomfort of the reflux.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Nexium And Prilosec Causing Massive Health Problems, Including Kidney Failure - The Ring Of Fire

Dexilant Reviews
Dexilant Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Dexilant Reviews pictures

Dexilant Reviews advise
Dexilant Reviews advise photo

Dexilant Reviews foto
Dexilant Reviews pics

Dexilant Reviews Dexilant Reviews new foto
Dexilant Reviews new pictures

picture Dexilant Reviews
images Dexilant Reviews

Watch Dexilant Reviews video
Watch Dexilant Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Dexilant Reviews, dexilant-reviews/
Communication on this topic: Dexilant Reviews, dexilant-reviews/ , dexilant-reviews/

Related News


It’s Heeeere: Justin Bieber Tour Merch Is Now On Sale at Forever21
Get expert beauty tips from Estée Lauder professionals
Dakins Half Strength Solution
Watch the Airbus A330neo be assembled and take its first flight
Too Faced Born This Way Foundation - Pearl -Very fair wrosy undertones
INSIDER
40 Traditional Bird Tattoo Designs For Men – Old School Winged Ideas
How to Stop Breakouts
How to Install Tor on Linux
How to Treat Epilepsy in Beagles



Date: 06.12.2018, 17:32 / Views: 33353